Scott May Archive

Video: 1976 Indiana national championship team reflects on unbeaten season

Nine members of Indiana’s undefeated 1976 national championship team – Jim Roberson, Wayne Radford,  Bobby Wilkerson, Scott May, Quinn Buckner, Kent Benson, Tom Abernethy,  Jim Crews and Scott Eells reflect on their perfect season on Jan. 5, 2015 at Cook Hall in Bloomington.

Watch the full video of their remarks below:

Around the Hall: Top 50 list, Harris nervous, more

Around the Hall is recommended reading from the Inside the Hall crew. So go ahead, get your read on. 

+ Chuck Klosterman ranks the top 50 college basketball players of all-time over at Grantland and two Hoosiers make the list.

+ Gary Harris admits that he’s a little bit nervous about his upcoming decision to Kyle Neddenriep of The Indianapolis Star.

+ updates its class of 2012 rankings and Indiana falls out of the top five following Mitch McGary’s commitment to Michigan.

+ ESPN The Magazine ranks every team in the country and the Hoosiers come in at No. 45 overall and seventh in the Big Ten.

+ The Associated Press writes that Indiana fans are anxious to see better results this season.

Beyond the Arc, the NBC Sports college hoops blog, delivers its Big Ten preview.

+ Avi Zaleon of The Indiana Daily Student lists his five expectations for Saturday’s exhibition against the University of Indianapolis.

ITH Super Happy Fun Time Top 10 List: Scott May

scottmay.jpgThe ballots have been counted and it’s time for Inside the Hall’s countdown of the greatest Indiana players of all-time. Today: No. 2: Scott May.

Years at Indiana: 1973-1976

The numbers: 1,593 points (17.7 average); 594 rebounds (6.6 average)

Career highs: 41 points (February 26, 1976 at Wisconsin); 17 rebounds (February 8, 1975 at Iowa); 9 steals (February 7, 1976 vs. Michigan)

Notable achievements: All-American (1975, 1976); National player of the year (1976); First team All-Big Ten (1975, 1976); Big Ten MVP (1975, 1976); Indiana team MVP (1975, 1976); Big Ten champion (1974, 1975, 1976); National champion (1976)

The case for May: One of the hardest working players to ever wear the candy stripes, May was the first Indiana player to win the player of the year award in 1976 when he led the Hoosiers to a 32-0 record and a national championship. He won Big Ten titles in each of his three seasons in Bloomington and was a two-time Big Ten MVP and All-American. May was one of three Hoosiers taken in the first round of the 1976 NBA Draft as the Sandusky, Ohio native went No. 2 overall to the Chicago Bulls.