Jordan Hulls Archive

Live Blog: Derby Festival Basketball Classic

We’re on the scene in Freedom Hall for the 2009 Derby Festival Basketball Classic. Jordan Hulls, Maurice Creek and Christian Watford will be participating for the Gold Team. As we move closer to tip-off, we’ll team with the Herald-Times for a live blog.

Creek and Hulls on target in 3-point shootout

Future Indiana teammates Maurice Creek and Jordan Hulls advanced to the finals of the Wazoo Sports Derby Festival Classic 3-point shootout Friday night at Knights Hall at Bellarmine University.

In total, four players advanced to the finals of the event which will be held at halftime of Saturday’s Derby Festival Classic game.

Creek led all shooters with 17 first round points while Hulls tied Louisville signee Mike Marra with 15 points.

Dunk contest: Creek and Christian Watford both participated in the preliminary round of the dunk contest, but neither advanced to Saturday’s final.

2-on-2 contest: Creek and UCLA signee Brendan Lane fell 13-8 in the final to Eric Bledsoe (undecided) and Rakeem Buckles (Louisville). Hulls, who teamed with Stephan Van Treese (Louisville) and Watford, who teamed with Peyton Siva (Louisville), both fell in the first round.

Jordan Hulls, Maurice Creek and Christian Watford

Three of the six Indiana signees – Jordan Hulls, Maurice Creek and Christian Watford – practiced together for the first time this afternoon in preparation for Saturday’s Wazoo Sports Derby Festival Basketball Classic. I’ll have more on the practice, including quotes from all three players, later this evening and tomorrow. For now, here’s a picture I took of the three of them before the workout:

Final Rosters announced for Wazoo Sports Derby Festival Basketball Classic

Here are the final rosters for the 2009 Wazoo Sports Derby Festival Basketball Classic. Maurice Creek, Jordan Hulls and Christian Watford will play together on the Gold team. Inside the Hall will have coverage throughout the weekend beginning late on Thursday.

Gold Team

Maurice Creek, Indiana, 6’5″, 200, Guard
Tyler Griffey, Illinois, 6’8″, 230, Forward
Jon Hood, Kentucky, 6’7″, 190, Guard
Jordan Hulls, Indiana, 6’0″, 170, Guard
Brendan Lane, UCLA, 6’9″, 205, Forward
Michael Snaer, Florida State, 6’4″, Guard
Daniel Orton, Kentucky, 6’10”, 260, Center
Christian Watford, Indiana, 6’8″, 215, Forward
Maalik Wayns, Villanova, 6’1″, 190, Guard
Rodney Williams, Minnesota, 6’6″, Forward
Kyryl Natyazhko, Undecided, 6’11”, Center

Coaches: Vince Walden, IMG Academy – Florida; Lewis Howard, Largo H.S. – Maryland

Black Team

Nolan Dennis, Memphis, 6’5″, 180, Guard
Rakeem Buckles, Louisvile, 6’8″, 203, Forward
Eric Bledsoe, Undecided, 6’0″, 160, Guard
Lakeem Jackson, South Carolina, 6’5″, 220, Forward
Elijah Johnson, Kansas, 6’2″, 183, Guard
Noel Johnson, USC, 6’7″, 180, Forward
Mike Marra, Louisville, 6’4″, 200, Guard
Eric Murphy, Florida, 6’10”, 220, Forward
Raymond Penn, Oklahoma State, 5’9″, 150, Guard
Peyton Siva, Louisville, 6’0″, 180, Guard
Stephan Van Treese, Louisville, 6’9″, 225, Forward
DaShonte Riley, Syracuse, 6’11”, Center

Coaches: David Gaines, Christ School- North Carolina; Andre Flynn, Fayette County H.S. – Georgia

Hulls, South capture 4A title, 69-62

Bloomington South completed its dream season with a 69-62 win over Ft. Wayne Snider in the Class 4A state championship last night.

Jordan Hulls finished with 14 points, Darwin Davis had 17 and Spencer Turner had 10. The state title is the first for South since 1919. You can read a recap here and view photos here.

Gatorade names Jordan Hulls Indiana Player of the Year

Alex has been slurping Bloomington South’s Jordan Hulls the last few months, and deservedly so: He’s been having quite the impressive season and has his team on the verge of a state title.

Alex has not been the only one noticing the play of Hulls, though. Gatorade has named him the Indiana Player of the Year. He joins some pretty good company the last few years as Tyler Zeller was your winner last year, Eric Gordon grabbed it two years back, Greg Oden snatched it the previous two years, and um, A.J. Ratliff won it the year before that.

As the Basketblog notes, Mr. Basketball isn’t announced for another two weeks, but one could assume Hulls has a good shot at that one, too.