Indiana picked to win the Big Ten in “official unofficial” media poll

  • 10/10/2022 9:01 am in

Big Ten media days are this Tuesday and Wednesday in Minneapolis and the annual “official unofficial” Big Ten preseason media poll was released this morning.

The unofficial poll surveys 28 writers from around the league (two from each Big Ten beat) to get their complete predicted order of finish for the league.

In addition, this year the 28 writers were asked to pick their preseason player of the year, preseason all-league first and second teams, preseason freshman of the year and preseason transfer of the year.

The poll is organized by Brendan Quinn of The Athletic and Adam Jardy of The Columbus Dispatch. The Big Ten does not conduct a full preseason media poll on its own for men’s basketball.

You can view the complete Big Ten media poll results at this link.

Complete predicted order of finish for the Big Ten (first place votes in parenthesis)

1. Indiana, 377 (19)
2. Illinois, 339 (6)
3. Michigan, 328 (1)
4. Michigan State, 281
5. Purdue, 279 (1)
6. Ohio State, 253
7. Iowa, 235 (1)
8. Rutgers, 202
9. Wisconsin, 191
10. Maryland, 153
11. Penn State, 118
12. Minnesota, 86
13. Northwestern, 56
14. Nebraska, 42

(Out of a possible 392 votes)

Full voting distribution for Indiana (a full listing of the media panel that participated in the poll is available at the bottom of this post):

1st: McFadden, Giambalvo, Carino, Fonseca, David Jones, Ben Jones, Landis, Werner, Richey, Smith, Neubert, Carmin, Greenberg, Cervantes, Washut, Watkins, James, Fuller, Schnable
2nd: Bozich, Osterman, Jardy
3rd: Quinn, Couch, Charboneau, Leistikow, Potrykus
4th: Burkhardt

Preseason Big Ten player, freshman and transfer of the year

Michigan’s Hunter Dickinson was voted Big Ten preseason player of the year, but it was not unanimous. Dickinson received 14 of the 28 votes. Indiana’s Trayce Jackson-Davis received 13 votes and Iowa’s Kris Murray received one vote.

Indiana’s Jalen Hood-Schifino was voted Big Ten preseason freshman of the year. Hood-Schifino received 16 votes. Skyy Clark of Illinois received seven votes, Ohio State’s Brice Sensabaugh received two votes, Ty Rodgers of Illinois received one vote, Michigan’s Jett Howard received one vote and Michigan State’s Tre Holloman received one vote.

Terrence Shannon Jr. was voted Big Ten preseason transfer of the year. Shannon Jr. received 16 votes. Matthew Mayer of Illinois received four votes, Michigan’s Jaelin Llewellyn received three votes, Maryland’s Jahmir Young received three votes and Minnesota’s Dawson Garcia received two votes.

Preseason All-Big Ten teams

Players received two points for a first-team vote and one point for a second-team vote.

First team (unanimous selections in all caps)
Zach Edey, Purdue, 52
Kris Murray, Iowa, 49
Clifford Omoruyi, Rutgers, 30

Second team
Terrence Shannon Jr., Illinois, 29
Jamison Battle, Minnesota, 24
Xavier Johnson, Indiana, 20
Chucky Hepburn, Wisconsin, 15
Tyler Wahl, Wisconsin, 14

Also receiving votes: Malik Hall, 13; Jalen Pickett, 11; Matthew Mayer, Justice Sueing, 9; Donta Scott, 8; Caleb McConnell, 5; Patrick McCaffery, 3; AJ Hoggard, Zed Key, Jaelin Llewellyn, Paul Mulcahy, Race Thompson, Jahmir Young, 2; Boo Buie, Dawson Garcia, Coleman Hawkins, RJ Melendez, Tyson Walker, 1.

How Alex Bozich of Inside the Hall voted

1. Illinois
2. Indiana
3. Michigan State
4. Purdue
5. Michigan
6. Rutgers
7. Ohio State
8. Wisconsin
9. Iowa
10. Minnesota
11. Maryland
12. Penn State
13. Nebraska
14. Northwestern

Preseason Player of the Year: Hunter Dickinson, Michigan
Preseason Transfer of the Year: Terrence Shannon Jr., Illinois
Preseason Freshman of the Year: Jalen Hood-Schifino, Indiana

Preseason First Team All-League:

Hunter Dickinson
Trayce Jackson-Davis
Zach Edey
Kris Murray
Clifford Omoruyi

Preseason Second Team All-League:

Terrence Shannon Jr.
Jamison Battle
Caleb McConnell
Xavier Johnson
Tyler Wahl

Complete list of voters (two from each Big Ten beat)

Scott Richey — Illinois | Champaign News-Gazette
Jeremy Werner — Illinois | 247Sports
Alex Bozich — Indiana | Inside the Hall
Zach Osterman — Indiana | Indianapolis Star
Kennington Smith — Iowa | The Des Moines Register
Chad Leistikow — Iowa | The Des Moines Register
Ryan McFadden — Maryland | The Baltimore Sun
Emily Giambalvo — Maryland | The Washington Post
Dylan Burkhardt — Michigan | UMHoops
Brendan Quinn — Michigan | The Athletic
Matt Charboneau — Michigan State | Detroit News
Graham Couch — Michigan State | Lansing State Journal
Marcus Fuller — Minnesota | Minneapolis Star Tribune
Ryan James — Minnesota | 247Sports
Robin Washut — Nebraska | On3
Jimmy Watkins — Nebraska | Omaha World-Herald
Steve Greenberg — Northwestern | Chicago Sun-Times
Alex Cervantes — Northwestern | The Daily Northwestern
Adam Jardy — Ohio State | Columbus Dispatch
Bill Landis — Ohio State | Rivals
Ben Jones — Penn State |
David Jones — Penn State | The Harrisburg Patriot-News
Mike Carmin — Purdue | Journal & Courier
Brian Neubert — Purdue | Rivals
Jerry Carino — Rutgers | Asbury Park Press
Brian Fonseca — Rutgers |
Abby Schnable — Wisconsin | Wisconsin State Journal
Jeff Potrykus — Wisconsin | Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

Filed to: