Kel’el Ware named to preseason watch list for 2024 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award

  • 10/27/2023 1:07 pm in

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced the preseason watch list for the 2024 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award, which honors the nation’s top power center, on Friday.

Indiana sophomore Kel’el Ware was one of four Big Ten players named to the 20-player list along with Purdue’s Zach Edey, Clifford Omoruyi of Rutgers and Minnesota’s Dawson Garcia.

“The centers on the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award watch list should feel tremendously proud of all they have accomplished to be associated with one of the greatest players basketball has ever seen,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame in a release. “We are honored to have Kareem Abdul-Jabbar’s perspective when evaluating talent each year, and we encourage the fans to vote alongside Kareem throughout this process.”

A transfer from Oregon, Ware averaged 6.6 points, 4.1 rebounds, and 1.3 blocks per contest in his lone season in Eugene. He shot 45.7 percent (85-of-186) from the floor, 27.3 percent (15-of-55) from the 3-point line, and 71.2 percent (47-of-66) from the free throw line.

The complete watch list, per a release, is available below:

Oumar Ballo, Arizona
N’Faly Dante, Oregon
Johni Broome, Auburn
Zach Edey, Purdue
Ryan Kalkbrenner, Creighton
Clifford Omoruyi, Rutgers
Kel’el Ware, Indiana
Joel Soriano, St. John’s
Hunter Dickinson, Kansas
Aday Mara, UCLA
Aaron Bradshaw, Kentucky
Donovan Clingan, UConn
Jordan Brown, Memphis
Josh Cohen, UMass
Dawson Garcia, Minnesota
Branden Carlson, Utah
Armando Bacot, North Carolina
Eric Dixon, Villanova
Jamarion Sharp, Ole Miss
Jesse Edwards, West Virginia

Filed to: