Indiana picked to finish 4th in the Big Ten by Blue Ribbon college basketball yearbook

  • 09/08/2023 7:47 am in

The Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook, an annual publication previewing the college basketball season since the early 1980s, was released recently in a digital format. Printed copies will be available at a later date.

After being picked to win the Big Ten last season, Blue Ribbon projects the Hoosiers to finish fourth in the Big Ten this season. Blue Ribbon did not rank Indiana in its preseason top 25.

The Big Ten programs in the Blue Ribbon preseason top 25: Purdue (No. 2) and Michigan State (No. 5).

Here are some notes on Indiana, the Big Ten at large and the national scene from the annual publication:

· Blue Ribbon predicts the order of finish in the Big Ten as follows: Purdue, Michigan State, Maryland, Indiana, Wisconsin, Illinois, Ohio State, Northwestern, Rutgers, Iowa, Nebraska, Michigan, Penn State and Minnesota.

· Purdue’s Zach Edey is the Blue Ribbon pick for Big Ten player of the year.

· Penn State’s Ace Baldwin, a transfer from VCU, is the Blue Ribbon pick for Big Ten newcomer of the year.

· The preseason Big Ten all-conference team selected by Blue Ribbon is Edey, Clifford Omoruyi of Rutgers, Terrence Shannon Jr. of Illinois, Northwestern’s Boo Buie and Maryland’s Jahmir Young.

· The top three Big Ten backcourts are Michigan State, Maryland and Northwestern.

· The top three Big Ten frontcourts are Purdue, Indiana and Wisconsin.

· Edey is Blue Ribbon’s pick for national player of the year and Hunter Dickinson of Kansas is the pick for newcomer of the year.

· Here are the Blue Ribbon preseason All-American teams:

First team: Edey, Dickinson, Duke’s Kyle Filipowski, Marquette’s Tyler Kolek and Villanova’s Justin Moore.

Second team: Mississippi State’s Tolu Smith, North Carolina’s Armando Bacot, Creighton’s Ryan Kalkbrenner, Kevin McCullar Jr. of Kansas and Texas A&M’s Wade Taylor IV.

Third team: Auburn’s Johni Broome, Arizona’s Oumar Ballo, UConn’s Tristen Newton, Buie and Young.

Fourth team: Dayton’s DaRon Holmes II, Colorado’s Tristan Da Silva, Shannon Jr., Tennessee’s Santiago Vescovi and USC’s Isaiah Coller.

The Blue Ribbon college basketball yearbook is available to purchase here.

Filed to: