Indiana’s Trayce Jackson-Davis wins 2023 Karl Malone Award

  • 04/01/2023 4:48 pm in

Indiana senior forward Trayce Jackson-Davis was named the winner of the 2023 Karl Malone Award on Saturday afternoon.

The award honors the nation’s top power forward.

Here’s the full release, via IU media relations:

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Senior forward Trayce Jackson-Davis was named the 2023 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year, as announced on ESPN College GameDay on Saturday.

“I could not be more excited to receive this year’s Karl Malone Award, “said Jackson-Davis. “This is something I share with our coaches and staff, my teammates, family, and all of Hoosier Nation. Thank you to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame for this honor.”

“Trayce has accomplished so much as an Indiana Hoosier and is very deserving of the Karl Malone Award,” said IU Coach Mike Woodson. “When this team was down in early January, he put the entire program on his shoulders, and night after night he made winning plays. He was the best player on the court all the way through the postseason.”

Jackson-Davis, a consensus All-America First Team selection, started 32 games this season and averaged 20.9 points, 10.8 rebounds, 4.0 assists, and 2.9 blocks per game. He is the first Division I men’s basketball player to average at least 20.0 points, 10.0 rebounds, 4.0 assists, and 2.0 blocks in a season in over 25 years. He led the Hoosiers in all four categories while also shooting 58.2% (262-of-450) from the floor and 69.5% (146-of-210) from the free throw line.

TJD has previously been honored as an All-America First Team player by the Associated Press, NABC, Sporting News, USBWA, and the Wooden Award. He was honored as a unanimous All-Big Ten First Team selection by both the coaches and the media and was tabbed to the All-Big Ten Defensive Team. Jackson-Davis was named Big Ten Player of the Week on five occasions during his senior campaign.

Jackson-Davis finished his Hoosier career third on the all-time program list for career points (2,258) and double-doubles (50). He holds the school record in both career rebounds (1,143) and blocked shots (270). TJD became the fifth player in Big Ten men’s basketball history to amass 2,000 career points and 1,000 career rebounds.

He compiled 11 career 30-point games, 24 games with at least 20 points and 10 rebounds, and 112 games with at least 10 points scored. He blocked at least one shot in 105 games and owns 78 multi-block games to his credit. He averaged 17.9 points, 9.1 rebounds, and 2.1 blocks per game over his four seasons with the Cream and Crimson.

Jackson-Davis joins Montrezl Harrell (Louisville, 2015), Georges Niang (Iowa State, 2016), Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017), Deandre Ayton (Arizona, 2018), Zion Williamson (Duke, 2019), Obi Toppin (Dayton, 2020), Drew Timme (Gonzaga, 2021), and Keegan Murray (Iowa, 2022) as recipients of the prestigious award.

2023 Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame Men’s Starting Five

Bob Cousy Award (Point Guard) – Markquis Nowell, Kansas State
Jerry West Award (Shooting Guard) – Marcus Sasser, Houston
Julius Erving Award (Small Forward) – Jalen Wilson, Kansas
Karl Malone Award (Power Forward) – Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award (Center) – Zach Edey, Purdue

Filed to: