Juwan Morgan earns all-district honors from NABC, USBWA

  • 03/13/2018 11:06 am in

Indiana junior forward Juwan Morgan, who was named second team All-Big Ten earlier this month, continues to add individual accolades for his breakout 2017-18 season.

On Tuesday morning, the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) named Morgan to its all-District 7 second team. Morgan was joined by Michigan’s Moritz Wagner, Purdue’s Vincent Edwards, Wisconsin’s Ethan Happ and Purdue’s Isaac Haas on the second team.

The NABC’s all-district 7 first team features Ohio State’s Keita Bates-Diop, Michigan State’s Miles Bridges, Purdue’s Carsen Edwards, Nebraska’s James Palmer and Penn State’s Tony Carr.

Last week, Morgan was named all-district V by the United State Basketball Writers Association (USBWA). The 11-man team includes players from six states: Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin.

Joining Morgan on the all-district V team: Bates-Diop, Bridges, Carsen Edwards, Vincent Edwards, Wagner, Michigan State’s Cassius Winston, Xavier’s Trevon Bluiett, Cincinnati’s Gary Clark and Butler’s Kelan Martin.

Morgan averaged 16.5 points, 7.4 rebounds, 1.5 assists, 1.4 blocks and 1.2 steals in 29.4 minutes per game as Indiana finished 16-15 and did not qualify for postseason play.

Filed to:

  • WhatsUpKnight2.0

    Congrats J-MO! Much deserved indeed. He’s gonna have a huge senior season

  • Arch Puddington

    This comes pretty close to “everybody gets a trophy”. I don’t even know what these things are. Not saying that Alex shouldn’t have posted this, just saying that “District 7, second team” doesn’t move the needle for me. Juwan will be a candidate for B1G player of the year and All-America honors next year, so lets hope he has much more to celebrate in the future.

  • TomEke

    We have been fed this narrative of the B1G being a bad conference all year, but here we are with the All District V List (for whatever it is worth) where 2 B1G teams had 2 players included (Purdue and MSU) while their “more impressive counterparts” in terms of seeding (Xavier and Cincy) had only 1 player included and other local teams had no one included: Notre Dame, Marquette, and Creighton all come to mind.

    Totals from the list:
    B1G: 7
    Big East: 2
    American: 1
    ACC: 0

    For what it’s worth, give me Matt Farrell over Cassius Winston all day (assuming since the state of Indiana is included in that list, Notre Dame would be considered).

  • Lance76

    Watching the development of Morgan this year has been a joy. Hope he attends the NBA work outs and gets feed back from an outside source. I also hope he comes back, works on his handle, 3 point shot and leads this team.

  • Dmoe

    Right you don’t what they are so to make a comment on something you know nothing about is idiotic, but to these kids they mean something. Who cares if it doesn’t move your needle respectfully. It’s not about you

  • Dmoe

    So don’t knock what they have achieved because it doesn’t move your needle your needle might be broke…lol

  • Arch Puddington

    I may be idiotic, but I am quite certain that Juwan Morgan doesn’t care what I think. And while I agree that this isn’t about me, the same could be said about every opinion expressed on ITH.

    Fan #1: “I really hope Romeo comes to IU!”
    Dmoe: “Who cares what you want? This isn’t about you, it’s about what Romeo thinks is best for him.”

    I guess we’ll all just have to carry on in our own solipsistic way. Sorry if that bothers you.

  • That’s precisely what I expect (and, yes, very much hope) to happen.

  • coachv

    what the hell is sloppysistic? man, this place is getting too smart for me

  • marcusgresham

    I’d prefer to not discuss “Arch’s needle”

  • coachv

    then why in the hell did u upvote his comment? personally, i’d like to see everyone get one of those little participation trophies on senior night

  • coachv

    more props to ole man for teaching me how to block. works like a charm

  • Sherronhasaheadache

    congrats JM you were the model of consistency on a very inconsistant team.