Report: 2017-18 Big Ten double-plays revealed

  • 07/20/2017 6:53 pm in

According to a report from Jon Rothstein of FanRag Sports, the five opponents Indiana will face twice in the 2017-18 regular season are Illinois, Iowa, Michigan State, Minnesota and Ohio State.

For the third time in the last five seasons, Indiana will reportedly not have a home-and-home with Purdue. The in-state rivals met at least twice in each campaign from 1974-75 through 2000-01.

Other rivals that will meet just once in the 2017-18 regular season include Michigan and Michigan State, Minnesota and Wisconsin, and Illinois and Northwestern.

As for the Hoosiers’ rumored mirror opponents this upcoming season, only Michigan State and Minnesota are expected to be contenders for the conference crown. Both return the majority of their key players from 2016-17 and are projected to begin the season as AP Top 25 teams.

Meanwhile, both Illinois (Brad Underwood) and Ohio State (Chris Holtmann) will be in their first seasons under new head coaches. Iowa, while still under the management of Fran McCaffery, will have to find a way to replace first team All-Big Ten guard Peter Jok.

Dates and locations for the Big Ten have not yet been revealed.

Below are the reported mirror opponents for the other 13 Big Ten teams, as reported by Rothstein:

Illinois: Indiana, Michigan State, Nebraska, Rutgers, and Wisconsin.

Iowa: Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio State, and Penn State.

Maryland: Michigan, Michigan State, Northwestern, Penn State, and TBD.

Michigan: Iowa, Maryland, Northwestern, Ohio State, and Purdue.

Michigan State: Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Rutgers, and Wisconsin.

Minnesota: Indiana, Iowa, Nebraska, Northwestern, and Purdue.

Nebraska: Illinois, Minnesota, Penn State, Rutgers, and Wisconsin.

Northwestern: Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Penn State, and Wisconsin.

Ohio State: Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Penn State, and Rutgers.

Penn State: Iowa, Maryland, Nebraska, Northwestern, and Ohio State.

Purdue: TBD, Michigan, Minnesota, Rutgers, and Wisconsin.

Rutgers: Illinois, Michigan State, Nebraska, Ohio State, and Purdue.

Wisconsin: Illinois, Michigan State, Nebraska, Northwestern, and Purdue.

Filed to: