Bryant, Blackmon Jr. named to preseason All-Big Ten team

  • 10/11/2016 8:37 pm in

In advance of Thursday’s media day in Washington D.C., the Big Ten announced its preseason 10-player all-conference team on Tuesday afternoon. Indiana was represented with two players on the 10-man team.

Sophomore Thomas Bryant and junior James Blackmon Jr. joined Wisconsin’s Bronson Koenig, Nigel Hayes and Ethan Happ, Michigan’s Derrick Walton, Maryland’s Melo Trimble, Iowa’s Peter Jok, Purdue’s Caleb Swanigan and Malcolm Hill of Illinois.

Hayes was the only unanimous selection to the team, which was voted on by a panel of conference media. The Wisconsin forward was also voted the Big Ten preseason player of the year.

The full release from the Big Ten is available below:

Rosemont, Ill. – Wisconsin’s Nigel Hayes has been chosen as the Big Ten Preseason Player of the Year heading into the 2016-17 men’s basketball season as voted on by a panel of conference media. The media also selected a 10-member preseason All-Big Ten team, with seven conference squads represented.

Hayes was also a unanimous selection to the preseason All-Big Ten team. Illinois’ Malcolm Hill, Indiana’s James Blackmon Jr., and Thomas Bryant, Iowa’s Peter Jok, Maryland’s Melo Trimble, Michigan’s Derrick Walton Jr., Purdue’s Caleb Swanigan and the Badgers’ Ethan Happ and Bronson Koenig also earned preseason All-Big Ten plaudits.

Hayes was named a first-team All-Big Ten honoree by both the coaches and media last season. Hill, Jok and Trimble were named second-team All-Big Ten by the coaches and media contingent, Bryant, Koenig and Walton Jr., earned third-team All-Big Ten plaudits by the coaches, while Happ was a third-team honoree in the media ballot and claimed honorable mention plaudits in the coaches’ poll. Happ was also named to the All-Defensive Team and was a member of the All-Freshman Team along with Swanigan.

Filed to:

  • BL4IU

    Hayes is so overrated.

  • Ms hoosier

    The refs really help him out a lot. You can’t touch him without the refs sending him to the foul line!!

  • sarge

    I bet he was close to the top in free throws attempted last season in all of college hoops. I looked it up after typing the first sentence and I was right! He was #10 amongst all of the NCAA D1 schools last year in free throw attempts. Sweet Jesus!

  • Sherronhasaheadache

    So is Swanigan

  • Fifer39

    Glad to see the recognition for JBJ. I think the health issues and the perception of his defensive weakness are fogging the memory of many about just how good he is and how important he is to us. For me, he is the key to making a deeper ncaa run this year.

  • Arch Puddington

    He’s not even their best player. If we were choosing sides, I’d take Happ over him in a heartbeat.

  • WhatsUpKnight2.0

    i agree, JBJR has to be this team’s go to scorer.

  • Arch Puddington

    He is an imperfect player and a certain amount of criticism is fair (and inevitable…), but I’m with you. At his best he is a lethal shooter and scorer who opens the floor for everyone else on the team. He also rebounds well. I’ve been disappointed in his ability to create off the dribble — he is pretty one dimensional compared to what I thought I saw when he was in high school — and of course his defense has to pick up, but even “as is” he is a big part of our potential success this year.

  • Bill Graham

    I think Happ is more overrated doesn’t impress me at all.

  • Bill Graham

    Agree with this list (especially with leaving the freshman off –I’m sure there is some kind of all BIG freshman list). I do disagree with leaving Sanders off. I’d take him over Walton. Sure he’s inconsistent but can you blame him…look at his help.

  • Sherronhasaheadache

    Idoubt TB thinks Happ is overrated since he schooled him in Madison last season

  • Bill Graham

    I was thinking about that when I posted that comment. I’m writing it off as a good game.

  • Arch Puddington

    Statistics say otherwise. He averaged more points and rebounds for the entire season than Thomas Bryant (12.4/7.9 vs. 11.9/5.5), and got better as time went on. Over has last 10 games he averaged 14.5/7.8, and his three tournament games were 15/9, 18/7, 14/12. He had nine double-doubles for the season, and was two rebounds or less away from eight others. (Hayes had three for the season, Bryant had two).

    So it sure looks to me like he is the real deal. His 25 against IU was his season high, but not in some flukish way (he had 18 or more 5 other times), and his rebounding was right on his season average. I said it elsewhere, but I’d take him over Hayes.