Yogi Ferrell named a finalist for 2016 Wooden Award

  • 03/05/2016 11:25 am in

Indiana senior guard Yogi Ferrell was named to the list of 15 Wooden Award finalists, the national advisory board for the award announced on Saturday.

Ferrell, who is averaging 17.1 points, 5.5 assists and 3.9 rebounds per game, is one of four Big Ten players on the list joining Michigan State’s Denzel Valentine, Iowa’s Jarrod Uthoff and Maryland’s Melo Trimble.

Calbert Cheaney was the last Hoosier to win the Wooden Award in 1993. Cody Zeller and Victor Oladipo were both named finalists for the award in 2013.

The complete list of finalists is available after the jump.


Brice Johnson, North Carolina
Buddy Hield, Oklahoma
Denzel Valentine, Michigan State
Georges Niang, Iowa State
Grayson Allen, Duke
Jakob Poeltl, Utah
Jarrod Uthoff, Iowa
Josh Hart, Villanova
Kay Felder, Oakland
Kris Dunn, Providence
Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia
Melo Trimble, Maryland
Perry Ellis, Kansas
Tyler Ulis, Kentucky
Yogi Ferrell, Indiana

Filed to: