Three Hoosiers named to Wooden Award preseason top 50 list

  • 11/17/2015 12:01 pm in

Three Indiana players have been named to the John R. Wooden Award preseason top 50 list, the national advisory board for the award announced on Tuesday.

Senior Yogi Ferrell, junior Troy Williams and sophomore James Blackmon Jr. were all named to the Wooden preseason top 50 list. Kentucky was the only other school with three players on the list.

A total of 10 Big Ten players were named to the list as the three IU players joined Maryland’s Melo Trimble and Jake Layman, Michigan State’s Denzel Valentine, Michigan’s Caris LeVert, Wisconsin’s Bronson Koenig and Nigel Hayes and Purdue’s A.J. Hammons.

Former Indiana All-American and Director of Basketball Operations Calbert Cheaney was the last Hoosier to win the Wooden Award in 1993.

Cody Zeller and Victor Oladipo were both finalists for the award during the 2012-2013 season. The complete preseason top 50 list is listed below:


Filed to:

  • inLinE6

    That’s outstanding! Bruce Brown may look at that list and wonder “I may be on that list one day at Indiana”!

  • not_fooled

    how do freshman get on this list?

  • INUnivHoosier

    Is it me, or does Caris LeVert seem like he should be listed at 6’3″?

  • OhioHoosier

    No he is definitely 6’5

  • INUnivHoosier

    I think it’s because he is thin and has a boyish face that I just always remember him as shorter.

  • TomJameson

    I agree, especially on a pre season list. Freshmen should be their own category IMO. Post or mid season lists are different because the “freshmen” have played some and there is an idea of their college skills and consistency. Pre season … not so much.

  • I agree also, but the people who give the award and decide who is quality enough to be on it.. do not agree. And I guess they are the important ones don’t ya think? How could you have two lists for one award? Some of those people will fall off of the list as the season progresses… and I believe others will be added. It’s really just a measure of guys whom at this point in time they are interested in watching for possible recipients of the award.

  • Hoosier Hall

    That says a lot about how the nation views IU this season. The expectations are high and rightfully so. Time to translate all that talent into something special.

  • O.G.Ehman

    Kudos to all three, they deserve the recognition.

  • Meadows008

    Unreal. GOAT

  • TomJameson

    Ken, I would not say they are the “important” ones, no, more like they are the ones who make and publish the lists. LOL As far as two lists for one award, well there are tons of “lists” out there now and it wouldn’t be a problem at all. Actually, more fodder for the water-cooler talk, more buzz for the buck.

    I think everybody knows that the lists change as the season progresses, as it should, but my point is not how correct the list is, but rather why should a high school player that has never played a college game in his life, be on a college pre-season list of the best players in college? Just doesn’t make sense.

    But lot of things in life don’t make sense, so it doesn’t really matter, just my opinion.