James Blackmon Jr. named a finalist for 2015 Wayman Tisdale Award

  • 03/02/2015 1:21 pm in

Earlier today, the United States Basketball Writers Association announced the finalists for the 2015 Wayman Tisdale Award, which honors the country’s top freshman, and IU freshman guard James Blackmon Jr. is among the 10 candidates.

The complete watch list, per a USBWA press release issued earlier this afternoon, is available after the jump:


Blackmon Jr. is joined on the finalist list by two other Big Ten players in Ohio State’s D’Angelo Russell and Maryland’s Melo Trimble.

Noah Vonleh was on the midseason watch list for the award last season, Yogi Ferrell was on the midseason watch list during the 2012-2013 season and Cody Zeller was a finalist for the award during for the 2011-2012 season.

The USBWA has chosen a national freshman of the year since the 1988-89 season, but an Indiana player has never won the award.

Filed to:

  • marcusgresham

    All 10 were McDonald’s All-Americans.
    Nice recognition for Blackmon but I’d say it’s Okafor or Russell winning it.
    Regardless, none of them can play bass like Tis’ did.

  • Kyl470

    Well if they factor in defense and FG% in conference road games then I don’t think JBJ is going to win. However, if they only look at scoring and FG% for home games then he has a great shot at winning.

  • Hoosier Hall

    I’ll be positive here, this is great to see our prized recruit be mentioned with these other names on the list. We pick on his defense (or lack thereof) a lot but he really is a talented offensive player and surprisingly good rebounder. When he improves his passing and defense he will be a first round pick for sure.

  • bvillehoosier

    Even being a lifelong Indiana fan I wouldn’t vote for him to win. He’s not a complete enough player. He’s a good player don’t get me wrong…but I’d place him in the bottom half of that list


    I would like to point out that if Trey Lyles stuck with his decision to play for Indiana, he too would be on this list.

  • inLinE6

    Even for scoring he was overshadowed by Russell.

  • 47250HoosierFan

    if defense is not a requirement then he is a shoe in!

  • HostileHoosier

    I like JbJ but the kid just cant play defence! Plus if he is having a off shooting night he just brings nothing to the game period! I think Russel has this wrapped up!

  • Ole Man

    If you’ve seen Okafor more than once, the choice is easy. Russell is very good. Okafor is great!

  • INUnivHoosier

    And we wouldn’t be uncertain about our tourney chances.

  • Zach

    JBJ has a ways to go to be a more complete player but it’s great to see him get recognized for his achievements so far. That being said, this list is Okafor and Russell and everyone else.


    Excellent point !


    He would have my vote. A man amongst boys, in a class all by himself, etc, etc. I’ll let the reader pick one cause they just about all apply.