Ferrell, Vonleh named to watch list for 2014 Naismith Award

  • 11/21/2013 1:53 pm in

Indiana sophomore Yogi Ferrell and freshman Noah Vonleh have been named to the watch list for the 2014 Naismith Award.

Earlier this month, Vonleh was named to the preseason top 50 list for the 2014 John R. Wooden Award.

Vonleh and Ferrell are two of nine Big Ten players to be named to the list, joining Ohio State’s Aaron Craft, Wisconsin’s Sam Dekker, Michigan State’s Gary Harris, Michigan’s Mitch McGary, Michigan State’s Adreian Payne, Michigan’s Glenn Robinson III and Ohio State’s LaQuinton Ross.

Former Indiana Director of Basketball Operations Calbert Cheaney was the last Hoosier to win the Naismith Award in 1993. Scott May also won it in 1976.

Last season, Victor Oladipo was one of four finalists for the award, which Michigan’s Trey Burke won.

The complete 50-player watch list follows after the jump:

Jordan Adams, UCLA
Kyle Anderson, UCLA
Isaiah Austin, Baylor
Jerrelle Benimon, Towson
Jahii Carson, Arizona State
Semaj Christon, Xavier
Aaron Craft, Ohio State
Sam Dekker, Wisconsin
Spencer Dinwiddie, Colorado
Cleanthony Early, Wichita State
Perry Ellis, Kansas
C.J. Fair, Syracuse
Yogi Ferrell, Indiana
Aaron Gordon, Arizona
Treveon Graham, VCU
Jerian Grant, Notre Dame
Montrezl Harrell, Louisville
Gary Harris, Michigan State
Joe Harris, Virginia
Andrew Harrison, Kentucky
Tyler Haws, BYU
Marshall Henderson, Ole Miss
Rodney Hood, Duke
Joe Jackson, Memphis
Cory Jefferson, Baylor
Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati
Alex Kirk, New Mexico
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Mitch McGary, Michigan
Jordan McRae, Tennessee
James Michael McAdoo, North Carolina
Shabazz Napier, Connecticut
Johnny O’Bryant, LSU
Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga
Jabari Parker, Duke
Adreian Payne, Michigan State
Julius Randle, Kentucky
Juvonte Reddic, VCU
Glenn Robinson III, Michigan
LaQuinton Ross, Ohio State
Wayne Selden, Kansas
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
Russ Smith, Louisville
Jarnell Stokes, Tennessee
Rasheed Sulaimon, Duke
Noah Vonleh, Indiana
Andrew Wiggins, Kansas
Kendall Williams, New Mexico
Chaz Williams, Massachusetts
James Young, Kentucky

Filed to: