Report: Big Ten to announce six-team divisions

  • 09/01/2010 2:19 pm in

You knew it was coming, but now, the details have apparently been leaked. According to this report on, the Big Ten will announce two six-team divisions on Wednesday.

The details:

Multiple sources told that the two divisions in the Big Ten will look like:

– Michigan, Nebraska, Iowa, Michigan State, Northwestern and Minnesota.

– And Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin, Purdue, Indiana and Illinois.

In men’s basketball, according to sources, the Big Ten is expected to play a 16-game conference schedule by taking a model similar to those used by the Big 12 and the Southeastern Conference. In those leagues, teams play each division opponent twice and then single games — three at home and three on the road — against teams in the opposing division.

These divisions have clearly been formed with football, football and more football in mind, but from a basketball perspective, the road back to the top of the conference just got tougher for IU.

Traditionally, four of the six best programs in the conference (sans IU) are grouped with the Hoosiers. And even though the 16-game schedule is not yet a done deal, it’s looking unlikely that a chance to beat up on Nebraska or Iowa twice per season will happen again.

Filed to: