Big Ten announces 2014-2015 basketball schedule

IUUM0072

The Big Ten Conference on Thursday evening announced its 2014-2015 men’s basketball schedule, which includes the conference’s new additions Rutgers and Maryland.

Indiana’s 18-game slate opens on New Year’s Eve at Nebraska and includes home and away bouts with both the Scarlet Knights and Terrapins, along with Michigan State, Ohio State and Purdue. The Hoosiers face Maryland for the first time on January 22 in Bloomington, and Rutgers for the first time on January 31 in Bloomington. The Hoosiers’ two games against the Boilermakers are on January 28 in West Lafayette and on February 19 at Assembly Hall.

Road-only opponents outside of Nebraska include Wisconsin, who the Hoosiers will play on February 3 during ESPN Super Tuesday, and Illinois on January 18. Home-only opponents include Michigan on February 8 and Iowa on March 3, with the game being broadcast on ESPN, as well.

The Hoosiers will close their regular season schedule on March 7, at home against Michigan State.

The 2014-15 season will be the first under the new scheduling format for the Big Ten, as the conference expanded to 14 teams over the offseason. For the eight teams Indiana plays just once this upcoming season, the Hoosiers will play home-and-homes with those same teams in the following two upcoming seasons.

Indiana’s entire 2014-2015 Big Ten schedule is posted below, and the non-conference games with known dates thus far is available here on our future schedules page.

Wednesday, December 31, 2014: Indiana at Nebraska

Monday, January 5, 2015: Indiana at Michigan State

Saturday, January 10: Indiana vs. Ohio State

Tuesday, January 13: Indiana vs. Penn State

Sunday, January 18: Indiana at Illinois

Thursday, January 22: Indiana vs. Maryland

Sunday, January 25: Indiana at Ohio State

Wednesday, January 28: Indiana at Purdue

Saturday, January 31: Indiana vs. Rutgers

Tuesday, February 3: Indiana at Wisconsin

Sunday, February 8: Indiana vs. Michigan

Wednesday, February 11: Indiana at Maryland

Sunday, February 15: Indiana vs. Minnesota

Thursday, February 19: Indiana vs. Purdue

Sunday, February 22: Indiana at Rutgers

Wednesday, February 25: Indiana at Northwestern

Tuesday, March 3: Indiana vs. Iowa

Saturday, March 7: Indiana vs. Michigan State

  • calbert40

    I thought about that, but in that alignment, but travel issues could cause some consternation for the ADs and presidents, I’d think…especially if they carried the divisional alignment over to the lesser sports.

    Regardless, I think they need to do some type of divisional alignment soon. Or let’s just throw caution to the wind and add two more teams. That way, we could have four divisions of four teams each: IU, PU, ILL and NW. boom.

ITH on Twitter

Powered by WordPress. Designed and developed by Ryan. Read our Privacy Policy. // Back to Top